Read My Lips

I was back up in Lincolnshire this past week to do a bit of ADR for Our Shining Sword.  Ah, good old ‘Automated Dialogue Replacement’…more commonly known as ‘You horrible little wart covered etc etc…’

What is ADR?  So the camera roles, I play the scene and for some reason the lines I speak aren’t recorded well, but the director wants the performance.  The solution is ADR: we just go into a studio afterwards and record the same lines nice and clean to match what my mouth was doing.  Simple right?

Hell no.  It’s a tricky little skill, but because it’s so widely used it’s well worth taking time to master.

Check out these masters at work (not quite what I was up to, but the same principle):

Leave a Reply

